La Chimera (2023)

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Had the absolute pleasure of watching this again in a small little cinema recently and wow, I loved it so much! Alice Rohrwacher shows off how exciting a writer-director she is in La Chimera with some subtle, yet insane camera moves and pans accompanying this excellent screenplay. Additionally, Josh O’Connor shows off how exciting an upcoming actor he is with this subdued and pensive performance where he wallows in the depths of loneliness and lack of vision. I struggle to put into words what I find so perfect about this film. All I know is this is a modern classic and I’m so excited to see what Rohrwacher’s got up next.

Leave a comment

  • La Chimera (2023)

    Had the absolute pleasure of watching this again in a small little cinema recently and wow, I loved it so much! Alice Rohrwacher shows off how exciting a writer-director she is in La Chimera with some subtle, yet insane camera moves and pans accompanying this excellent screenplay. Additionally, Josh O’Connor shows off how exciting an…

  • A Hidden Life (2019)

    I’ll preface this by explaining that this film is probably my favourite film of all time. Nothing has ever affected me the way this film has. Terrence Malick is one of our greatest living directors, and his work continues to innovate and excel. I’m so glad that he returned to these scripted and structured films…

  • Stalker “Сталкер” (1979)

    Oh my, where do I even begin? ‘Stalker’ is a Russian film by acclaimed auteur director, Andrei Tarkovsky. Released in 1979, it has slowly become a bit of a cult classic; one of those films where if you’ve seen it you judge people for not having seen or heard of it. It follows the “Stalker”…

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started