A Hidden Life (2019)

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I’ll preface this by explaining that this film is probably my favourite film of all time. Nothing has ever affected me the way this film has. Terrence Malick is one of our greatest living directors, and his work continues to innovate and excel. I’m so glad that he returned to these scripted and structured films as this film built off everything he had been doing for decades and only expounded on it.

I don’t think I’ve ever watched a movie where my initial lukewarm feelings towards it were completely destroyed by the end. I sat there watching the film’s first hour, admiring the phenomenal cinematography, but not connecting much with the story. But man, it just clicked suddenly and I was completely enamoured by everything. The drama, the score and the testing of Franz’s Christian morals are all completely stunning. For the last 45 minutes, I swear I sat there, scared, shocked, jaw ajar and tears flowing down my face every 5 minutes. That beautiful tracking shot of the motorcycle floored me when used the second time. A perfect film that’ll linger in my mind for the rest of my life.

This will never be that favourite film that I revisit all the time, but I know I’ll never stop thinking about it and I think that’s incredibly special. Thank you Terrence Malick.

Leave a comment

  • La Chimera (2023)

    Had the absolute pleasure of watching this again in a small little cinema recently and wow, I loved it so much! Alice Rohrwacher shows off how exciting a writer-director she is in La Chimera with some subtle, yet insane camera moves and pans accompanying this excellent screenplay. Additionally, Josh O’Connor shows off how exciting an…

  • A Hidden Life (2019)

    I’ll preface this by explaining that this film is probably my favourite film of all time. Nothing has ever affected me the way this film has. Terrence Malick is one of our greatest living directors, and his work continues to innovate and excel. I’m so glad that he returned to these scripted and structured films…

  • Stalker “Сталкер” (1979)

    Oh my, where do I even begin? ‘Stalker’ is a Russian film by acclaimed auteur director, Andrei Tarkovsky. Released in 1979, it has slowly become a bit of a cult classic; one of those films where if you’ve seen it you judge people for not having seen or heard of it. It follows the “Stalker”…

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started